Homemade Cayenne Rosemary Hummus

IMG_0714

After work on Friday I brought home a shiny, long-awaited addition to my kitchen: a Food Processor. Adding new goodies to the kitchen makes me more excited than a six-year-old on a sugar high zipping around Chuck E. Cheese. My brain started buzzing over all of the amazing things I can concoct with my new toy (hummus, pesto, cauliflower rice, peanut butter, etc…), but the event-packed weekend was upon me and my food processor sadly stayed put in its box in a corner of my apartment.

I bring you: MONDAY. Today. Every week. The always expected yet somewhat disappointing weekday that seems to be the excuse of every mishap or bitter attitude.

Although this always dreaded Monday was not so dreadful at all (hold the applause), all I could think about was rushing home to my food processor and whipping up some highly desired hummus.

Hummus is a snack that my mom used to make on a regular basis in our house when I was growing up. Luckily, I was able to act as the tester and take multiple (heaping) spoonfuls of this delicious mixture to make sure that it had the perfect balance of lemon, garlic, and cumin.

Unbeknownst to me, my cabinet was lacking one of the main ingredients to a traditional hummus – cumin.

Rather than completely changing my mind and making something different *happens often*, I decided to work with it and go with what my taste buds tingled for.

I bring you: Cayenne Rosemary Hummus.*

IMG_0709.jpg

Homemade Cayenne Rosemary Hummus

(Suggested) Serving Size: 2 TBSP | Calories: 50 | Protein: 1.6g | Carbs: 5.4g | Fat: 2.6g

INGREDIENTS (suggested amounts adjusted to taste):

  • 1 can (1 1/2 cups) Organic Low Sodium Chickpeas (Garbanzo Beans)
  • 2 tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Juice of 1/2 Lemon (more to taste)
  • 1 tsp Rosemary
  • 1 tsp Cayenne
  • 1-3 Cloves of Garlic (to taste…I used 3)
  • Pinch of Salt
  • 2-4 tbsp water

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Add chickpeas, olive oil, lemon juice, rosemary, cayenne, garlic, salt & water to food processor.
  2. Pulse until combined. Scrape down the sides with a spatula in between blending to ensure creamy texture.
  3. Transfer to bowl & drizzle with olive oil and place in the refrigerator for ultimate taste bud fireworks.
  4. Serve & enjoy!

 

*Recipe can easily be adjusted to incorporate any desired ingredients in place of rosemary & cayenne.

Leave a comment